PDA

View Full Version : Are you a "Detailer?"

fdresq4
12-09-2014, 12:29 PM
On another forum, some discussion had taken place about coatings, right Claude? Anyway as the conversation developed, some opinions were offered and it was alleged that he opinion of who qualifies as a "detailer." Again, this was one person's alleged opinion. One of the gentlemen involved is a member her, I believe so I will let him speak to his specifics.
With that being said, here is what I offered to the conversation...

I am a full- time career firefighter. Some of the career guys I work with do not consider volunteer firefighters "real professionals" because they do not get paid for it. I absolutely disagree with that thought. The career and volunteers, at least here, go to the same training. Just because you may not do it full- time or receive a steady paycheck does not make the individual any less.
It is all on how the individual conducts themselves. I know many volunteer professional volunteers. I guess I would liken it to folks going to Mike Phillips training sessions. Some may do it full- time and others not but aren't they all there receiving the same training and continuing to better their skills? Sure skill levels maybe different just out of the sheer fact of having more correction time. With that said, it would not surprise me at all if two vehicles were put side-by-side and I could not tell who the paycheck detailer was and the "non-paycheck" detailer was.

Dr_Pain
12-09-2014, 02:13 PM
Well good morning to you too Steve! This is quite the heavy subject you are putting on the table this early in the morning, and one that unfortunately will remain in debate "ad vitam aeternam". But let me have a go at it anyhow and let me offer my "professional" opinion LOL!