PDA

View Full Version : Serious question - why the obssesion about water beading, when...

Vanish
07-03-2015, 09:17 PM
... it seems that water sheeting is better?

I am new in this whole detailing thing, and I can see how people are happy about water drops on their cars. You can even see threads just about drops. Yeah it looks cool, but I really like to know what I am doing and see the whole picture. For me, I did not understand why this is a functionally a good thing, when drops seems to stay longer on the surface and they should do more water spots. This was certainly proven, after the first rain after I Reloaded my black pearl car for the first time. I have never had so much water spots!

So I dig into the Internet and found that that so called "gurus" on major forums all saying that sheeting is preferable and drops are because of "uninformed public" like the people want to see that they put something on their car... Strange.

So I wanted to ask you, pros here and people just from the core of the manufacturing process who have a better understanding of the whole thing, is this correct thinking, especially when talking about coatings (most people just talk about waxes, if it makes any difference).

Or to put this in a different question - is this ultra-water-beading that CQ/Reload does simply an adverse effect of other good things it does? Or is it intentional and good from a functionally point of view? Perhaps advantage on vertical panels and disadvantage on horizontal panels? Just thinking...

Thank you and hope you don't mind I am asking.

Ebg18t
07-04-2015, 01:53 AM
Beading or sheeting aside the best part of CQ, CQUK & CQF is dirt just doesn't stick to it. Makes rinsless washes so easy.

Corey
07-04-2015, 05:36 AM
^ that's it. We could have a hydrophilic coating already which stops all beading... Only a couple problems.

#1 that generally means it doesn't shed dirt well either.

#2 the market says "how do I know it's on my paint!?"