PDA

View Full Version : Flex vs. Boss

craigkaeding74
10-04-2015, 04:05 AM
I have been using a flex 3401 for a couple years. We need another polisher at the shop. I have been looking at the Boss from Griots. I like the flex but wonder if the Boss is an upgrade. My main concern is that it will stop orbiting up against body lines like my PC used to. Anyone have some experience and advice.

Sent from my HTC331ZLVW using Tapatalk

Daytona675
10-04-2015, 04:34 AM
Having used both, the Flex is way better for curved surfaces, but the Boss kills it on any flat/slightly curved surfaces. Haven't had it stall out on me yet. Biggest thing about the Boss is I can do an entire car and not be tired. Depending on how bad the car was, I'll be pretty exhausted using the Flex.

1600CC
10-05-2015, 02:38 AM
I went from a PC to a G110v2 to a VRG 3401 and I simply love the forced rotation of the Flex. I personally would stick with the Flex but it's all in what you feel best with.

Worthrj
11-03-2015, 12:24 PM
My friend JohhnyB just bought a Flex rotary and compared to his DeWalt rotary the flex is lighter in weight and even killed swirls with a MF rotary pad haha. I love Rupes, but I gotta say...I like the flex as well.

parttimer
11-03-2015, 12:35 PM
I have a Flex and Rupes. The forced rotation is a BEAUTIFUL thing on curvy wavy indented panels. Perhaps the new Rupes is going to solve that issue, I am tempted to sell my current 21 to get the new model when it gets released to see. Yes, the Rupes destroys imperfections and on large acres of paint, truck hoods, beds and things like that, it is a MONSTER. Hit a wheel arch and it stops. People who have mastered the rupes, my hats off to you.

Worthrj
11-03-2015, 12:56 PM