PDA

View Full Version : CQUK application error and fixes

josephearljones
01-15-2016, 09:28 PM
Did my first application if CQUK this past week on my new new truck. Not my first detailing rodeo, but I'm new to this product and the car pro line.

I spent about 8 hrs with decon and correction to ensure a perfect surface. My final polish was with Reflect, followed by a detailed wipe down with Eraser. By the time I set about the CQUK application it was completely dark outside, and I was working with my inadequate garage lights. This is what caused the trouble. I did what I thought to be a thorough wipe down, and removal, but once I pulled it in to direct sunlight the next day that wasnt the case. The paint has somewhat of a hazey look, with some noticeable "greasy" looking high spots.

I have since ordered Essence, and my plan is to lightly polish with Essence and then reapply a top coat of CQUK as I have some left. Should this solve my problem? Any tips (other than using adequate light this time)?

Thanks gang

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

fdresq4
01-15-2016, 09:53 PM
Hi Joe,

Sorry to hear of your issues. Depending Essence should work but keep that REFLECT handy. You "may" need it, depending on the correction. Normally any high spots or issues are easily handled with REFLECT and a light polishing, tis was prior to ESSENCE of course.
If I may suggest, make sure you have ample Microfiber suede applicators and the same but larger clothes. As you have found out...LIGHTING is extremely important.

In my case, temps were 63 degrees and 37% humidity. Test a small area prior to full application so you can establish timing from application to successful removal. It's a good idea to establish a baseline.

One of the senior Pro members will chime in to give even better help. Can you post pics and tell us your weather conditions?

Steve

josephearljones
01-15-2016, 09:58 PM
Hi Joe,